Fifteen seniors receive national fellowships and scholarships

Author: William G. Gilroy


The Fulbright U.S. Student Program, Luce Scholars Program, the National Science Foundation and other national organizations have awarded postgraduate scholarships and fellowships to 15 members of the University of Notre Dame’s Class of 2014.

Rebecca Marton, Andover, Massachusetts, received a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship, which provides funding for research-based study leading to a master’s or doctoral degree in science (including social sciences), technology, engineering and math (STEM).

Matthew Cook, Burr Ridge, Illinois, received a Luce Scholarship, which supports a one-year professional placement and cultural immersion experience in Asia for individuals who have limited experience of Asia and a record of high academic achievement, leadership ability and clearly defined interests with evidence of potential for professional accomplishments.

Charles Cong Yang Xu, Wuhan, People’s Republic of China, received a full scholarship for the Erasmus Mundus Master Programme in Evolutionary Biology (MEME), which is a two-year, research-oriented master program for talented and motivated students who are interested in understanding evolution in all its facets. It is a joint project between four European universities and Harvard University.

Marcus Liddell, Eau Claire, Wisconsin, and Leo Hall, Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan, received Austrian Teaching Assistantships, which provide prospective teachers of German and/or graduates in Austrian studies with opportunities to work at secondary schools throughout Austria. Hall also received a DAAD Study Scholarship, which provides funding for graduating seniors with a well-defined study or research project that makes study at universities in Germany essential.

Alexandra Below, Westlake, Ohio, and Anne Marie Blieszner, Denver, received French Government Teaching Assistantships for graduates proficient in French who wish to teach English conversation classes in all regions of France.

The following students received study/research grants from the Fulbright U.S. Student Program, which seeks to build international cooperation as it increases mutual understanding between the people of the U.S. and other countries though the exchange of people, knowledge and skills: Leo Hall — Germany; Grace Meikle, Boise, Idaho — China; and Sylvia Yong, Gainesville, Florida — France.

The following students received English Teaching Assistantship awards from Fulbright: Natalie Boll, Grosse Pointe, Michigan — Luxembourg; Deanna Kolberg, South Bend, Indiana — South Korea; Marcus Liddell — Germany; and Lauren Schmitt, Eagan, Minnesota — Laos.

Additionally, senior Alex Coccia, Columbus, Ohio, was named a 2013 Truman Scholar. Established in 1975 as a “living memorial” to President Harry S. Truman, the prestigious scholarship includes $30,000 in graduate study funds, priority admission and supplemental financial aid at select institutions, leadership training, career and graduate school counseling, and internship opportunities within the federal government.

Mary Prokop, a senior from Cleveland, was awarded a Beinecke Scholarship in her junior year. The scholarship enables promising young men and women to pursue a graduate education.

The University’s Center for Undergraduate Scholarly Engagement (CUSE) provides students across the University with opportunities for research, scholarship and creative projects. The center assists them in finding faculty mentors, funding and venues for the publication or presentation of their work. It also promotes applications to national fellowship programs and prepares students in their application process. For more information, please visit

Originally published by William G. Gilroy at on May 20, 2014.