Class of 2011

2011 Graduating with High Honors

Summa Cum Laude
Nicole Balduf; Claire Brown; Grant Erickson; Claire Naus; Elizabeth Young

Magna Cum Laude
Sarah Ceponis; Rhiannon Duke; Katherine Fitzpatrick; Colleen Flahive; Elise Gerspach; Mary Howard; Kathryn Hunger; Maeve Maher; Elizabeth Nagel; Daniel Schmitt

Cum Laude
Nicole Allen; Elaine Amoresano; Elizabeth Benson; Anna Coles; Melissa Coles; Kevin Danchisko; Bianca Fernandez; Rebecca Flynn; Alexander Gannon; Theresa Gildner; Jordan Hill; Nicole Navas; Elizabeth Olveda; Meredith Ragany; Lauren Restivo; Shea Streeter; Lauren Weber

2011 Honor Societies

Academic Honor Society of Phi Beta Kappa – Claire Brown, Rhiannon Duke, Grant Erickson, Katherine Fitzpatrick; Elise Gerspach, Mary Howard, Maeve Maher, Elizabeth Nagel, Claire Naus, Daniel Schmitt, Elizabeth Young.

Anthropology Honor Society of Lambda Alpha – Nicole Allen, Elaine Amoresano, Elizabeth Benson, Claire Brown, Melissa Coles, Jaime Cordes, Kathleen Corr, Kevin Danchisko, Rhiannon Duke, Bianca Fernandez, Katherine Fitzpatrick, Colleen Flahive, Elise Gerspach, Theresa Gildner, Maeve Maher, Claire Naus, Nicole Navas, Elizabeth Olveda, Meredith Ragany, Kerry Reardon, Lauren Restivo, Daniel Schmitt, Elizabeth Young.

English Honor Society of Sigma Tau Delta - Kathleen Corr, Margaret Nettesheim, Meredith Ragany, Lauren Restivo

German Language Honor Society of Delta Phi Alpha - Jaime Cordes

Italian Language Honor Society of Gamma Kappa Alpha - Adrian Lopez Medina

Political Science Honor Society of Pi Sigma Alpha - Kathryn Hunger

Sociology Honor Society of Alpha Kappa Delta - Mark Herrera

Spanish Language Honor Society of Sigma Delta Pi - Elise Gerspach, Elizabeth Young

Business Honor Society of Beta Gamma Sigma - Nicole Balduf

Business Honor Society of Beta Alpha Psi - Michael Scheidler


2011 National Awards

National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship - Claire Brown

Fulbright Teaching Assistantship - Jaime Cordes

2011 University Awards within the Department of Anthropology

The Peter Brown Professional Achievement Award- To the anthropology student with outstanding performance in the tasks of a professional academic in one or more of the following arenas: publication, presentation at professional meetings, grants, fellowships. The recipient for 2011 was Claire Naus.

The Paul Farmer Public Anthropology Award - This award recognizes the student who has used their anthropological training for public service. In 2011 the recipient was Neva Lundy.

The David Huffman Scholar/Athlete Award- This award is presented to students with outstanding performance in the anthropology major and in athletics. In 2011, the recipients were Hannah Jackson and Daniel Schmitt.

Raymond W. Murray, C.S.C. Award in Anthropology - Each year the department honors our top graduating senior for exemplary work in anthropology with this college award. In 2011, the honored student was Claire Brown.

The Irwin Press Prize in Medical Anthropology - Established in 2001 by emeritus faculty Irwin Press, this award recognizes the best paper in medical anthropology submitted by a graduating senior. The recipient for 2011 was Neva Lundy.

The Julian Samora Award - This award is presented to an outstanding senior majoring in anthropology. In 2011, the recipient was Katherine Fitzpatrick.

2011 Other University Awards

Activity and Service Awards

Citation of Merit - Grant Erickson

Hall Spirit Award - Molly Boyle

Jose Tito Siguenza Award for Service to Hispanic Youth - Elizabeth Young

In the College of Arts and Letters

The Donald and Marilyn Keough Award - Rhiannon Duke

The James E. Robinson Award - Meredith Ragany

Walter Langford Award for Excellence in Spanish Literature - Elizabeth Young

In the Mendoza College of Business

The Brother Cyprian, C.S.C. Award - Nicole Balduf

In the University

The Patrick L. Haley Award - Alexander Barbuto