Class of 2012

2012 Graduating with High Honors

Summa Cum Laude

Michelle Letourneau, Caroline Maloney, Jennifer Schulte, Rebecca Sinclair, Lauren Walas, Caitlin Wilson, Mellisa Wrapp

Magna Cum Laude

James Baffa, Claire Conley, Hanna O’Brien, Justine Ward


Cum Laude

Lauren Aristorenas, Kelsey Christoffel, Daniel Johansen, Ellen Kozelka, Ralph Millett, Kirsten Prabhudas, Kathleen Puls, Kevin Rahill, Ying Tian, Jonathan Whitcomb


2012 Lambda Alpha

Anthropology Honor Society of Lambda Alpha – Lauren Aristorenas, Dianna Bartone, Shelly Birch, Morgan Iddings, Ellen Kolzelka, Adam Lake, Michelle Letourneau, David Loftus, Katelyn Melloh, Ralph Millett, Laura Mittelstaedt, Kathryn O'Rourke, Alison Podalski, Christina Rogers, Meghan Smith, Curtis Tripp, John Villecco, Lauren Walas, Justine Ward, Andrew Webster, Caitlin Wilson.


2012 University Awards within the Department of Anthropology

The Peter Brown Professional Achievement Award- To the anthropology student with outstanding performance in the tasks of a professional academic in one or more of the following arenas: publication, presentation at professional meetings, grants, fellowships. The recipient for 2012 was Elise Alonzi.

The Paul Farmer Public Anthropology Award - This award recognizes the student who has used their anthropological training for public service. In 2012 the recipient was Elizabeth Andrews.

The Roberto DaMatta Excellence in Anthropology Award - To all students who achieve a 4.0 in the anthropology major. The recipients for 2012 were Michelle Letourneau, Jennifer Schulte, Rebecca Sinclair, and Caitlin Wilson.

The David Huffman Scholar/Athlete Award- This award is presented to students with outstanding performance in the anthropology major and in athletics. In 2012, the recipients were Danielle Miller (softball), Natalie Novosell (basketball), and James Baffa (rowing).

Raymond W. Murray, C.S.C. Award in Anthropology - Each year the department honors our top graduating senior for exemplary work in anthropology with this college award. In 2012, the honored student was Melissa Wrapp.

The Irwin Press Prize in Medical Anthropology - Established in 2001 by emeritus faculty Irwin Press, this award recognizes the best paper in medical anthropology submitted by a graduating senior. The recipients for 2012 were Kelly Colas and Hanna O'Brien.

The Julian Samora Award - This award is presented to an outstanding senior majoring in anthropology. In 2012, the recipient was Caroline Maloney.