Class of 2015

2015 Lambda Alpha

Anthropology Honor Society of Lambda Alpha – Olivia Cogan, Carolyn Comes, Gary George, Katherine Hoyer, Ryan Huhn, Megan Krouse, Rebecca Mayus (inducted 2014), Megan McCormick, Sara Middendorf, Lauren Morisseau, Alexis Pala, Brendan Rooney (inducted 2014), Mary Schmidt, Kaitlyn Simmons, and Connor Walsh


2015 University Awards within the Department of Anthropology

The Peter Brown Professional Achievement Award- To the anthropology student with outstanding performance in the tasks of a professional academic in one or more of the following arenas: publication, presentation at professional meetings, grants, fellowships. The recipient for 2015 was Rebecca Mayus.

The Paul Farmer Public Anthropology Award - This award recognizes the student who has used their anthropological training for public service. In 2015 the recipient was Alexis Pala.

The Roberto DaMatta Excellence in Anthropology Award - To all students who achieve a 4.0 in the anthropology major. The recipients for 2015 were Olivia Cogan and Megan McCormack.

The David Huffman Scholar/Athlete Award- This award is presented to students with outstanding performance in the anthropology major and in athletics. In 2015 the recipient was Molly Seidel.

Raymond W. Murray, C.S.C. Award in Anthropology - Each year the department honors our top graduating senior for exemplary work in anthropology with this college award. In 2015, the honored student was Rebecca Mayus.

The Irwin Press Prize in Medical Anthropology - Established in 2001 by emeritus faculty Irwin Press, this award recognizes the best paper in medical anthropology submitted by a graduating senior. The recipient for 2015 was Megan Marshalla.

The Julian Samora Award - This award is presented to an outstanding senior majoring in anthropology. In 2015, the recipient was Sharia Smith.