Class of 2016

2016 Lambda Alpha

Anthropology Honor Society of Lambda Alpha – Kimberly Bauer, Nora Eder, Louise Gallagher, Gary George (inducted 2015), Austin Hampe, Sarah Hennessy, Maureen Keating, Mariel Kennedy, Teresa Kennedy, Anne Kuster, Sabrina Lichon, Emma Nalin, Ryan Phan, Thomas Rieth, Jorge Rivera, Gabriella Rogoff, Molly Seidel, Mariana Tumminello, Rebecca Wornhoff.


2016 University Awards within the Department of Anthropology


The Irwin Press Paper Award in Medical Anthropology - Established in 2001 by emeritus faculty Irwin Press, this award recognizes the best paper in medical anthropology submitted by a graduating senior. The recipient for 2016 was Rebecca C. Wornhoff.

Integrative Anthropology Paper Award- Anthropology is the study of the human, writ large. But it is too often divided into a multitude of discreet ways to think about the human experience. Integrative anthropology is a broad-scale and generous anthropology, where diverse theoretical and methodological toolkits have the potential to merge, meld, deviate, and entangle. Papers in this area can cross traditional boundaries and draw from a range of different areas of scholarship in their efforts to develop a fuller, even if sometimes messier, understanding of being and becoming human. The recipient for 2016 was Steven C. Goicoechea.

The David Huffman Scholar/Athlete Award- This award is presented to students with outstanding performance in the anthropology major and in athletics. In 2016 the recipient was Victoria D. Sluka.

The Julian Samora Award - This award is presented to an outstanding senior  who has demonstrated broad engagement with academic life. In 2016 the recipient was Grace E. Linczer.

The Peter Brown Professional Achievement Award- To the anthropology student with outstanding performance in the tasks of a professional academic in one or more of the following arenas: publication, presentation at professional meetings, grants, fellowships. The recipient for 2016 was Kenzell H. Huggins.