Class of 2019

2019 Lambda Alpha

Anthropology Honor Society of Lambda Alpha, Beta Chapter of Indiana Sara Berumen (class of 2020), Margaret Doyle, (class of 2020), Grace Garvey, Alexis Green, Nicholas Heise, Sarah Leonard, Coleman Maberry, Hannah Ray, Anna Scartz, (class of 2020), Sarah Seaberg, and George Timmins

2019 University Awards within the Department of Anthropology

Father Murray Integrative Anthropology Paper Award- Anthropology is the study of the human, writ large. But it is too often divided into a multitude of discreet ways to think about the human experience. Integrative anthropology is a broad-scale and generous anthropology, where diverse theoretical and methodological toolkits have the potential to merge, meld, deviate, and entangle. Papers in this area can cross traditional boundaries and draw from a range of different areas of scholarship in their efforts to develop a fuller, even if sometimes messier, understanding of being and becoming human. The recipient for 2019 was Sarah Seaberg. The title of her paper was "The Development of a Culture of Sustainability in Connemara".

The David Huffman Scholar/Athlete Award- This award is presented to students with outstanding performance in the anthropology major and in athletics. In 2019 the recipient was Mia Ayer (golf).

The Julian Samora Award- This award is presented to an outstanding senior  who has demonstrated broad engagement with academic life. In 2019 the recipient was Julia Mackessy.

The Peter Brown Professional Achievement Award- To the anthropology student with outstanding performance in the tasks of a professional academic in one or more of the following arenas: publication, presentation at professional meetings, grants, fellowships. The recipient for 2019 was Grace Garvey.