Class of 2021

2021 Lambda Alpha

Anthropology Honor Society of Lambda Alpha, Beta Chapter of Indiana Jon Christian Boekhout (class of 2022), Rhea Desouza, Cameron Dowd (class of 2022), Emma Downing, Katherine Franz, Matthew Kirchmier, Maxwell Lander (inducted 2020), Orry Marciano, Sara Meyer, Courtney Mitchell, Mary Clare Morley, Gabriel Ramos (class of 2022), Cristina Ruiz (class of 2022), Nicole Skora, Josiah Spencer, Ursulina Tomczak, Noémi Toroczkai (inducted 2020), Nyakeh Tuchscherer (inducted 2020).

2021 University Awards within the Department of Anthropology

The Irwin Press Paper Award in Medical Anthropology- To the student that has produced a quality paper outlining research in medical anthropology. This year's winner was Nyakeh Tuchscherer for her paper "Economic and Social Strategies for Survival among Communities of People with Albinism in Tanzania"

The Father Patrick Gaffney Integrative Anthropology Paper Award- To the student who has written a paper that crosses traditional boundaries and draws from a range of different areas of scholarship in an effort to develop a fuller, even if sometimes messier, understanding of being and becoming human. This year's winner was Rose McKeon for her paper "Left Over or Left For?" regarding educated unmarried women in China.

James McKenna and Joanne Mack Promising Anthropology Major Award- This is award is presented to students who show outstanding early performance in the Anthropology major. This year's recipients were Analina Barnes and Kiera Mermejo-Varga.

The Julian Samora Award- This award is given to students who demonstrate broad engagement with academic life. This year's recipient was Abigail Stokes.

The Carolyn Nordstrom Professional Achievement Award- Given to students with outstanding performance in the tasks of a professional academic in one of the following areas: publication, presentation at professional meetings, grants or fellowships. This year's winner was Alyssa McGrath.